Six word Saturday

Somebody out there likes my blog!

It’s been a “heart it” sort of week, if you know what I mean?  My last post, H is for Happy Heart, seemed to make quite a few people smile, myself included.  Smiles are always welcome, so I thought we’d share another heart or two today.  The city of Guimaraes in Portugal was full of them.

I seem to’ve been blessed with a bundle of blog love lately, and I’d like to pass some of it on today, if you’ll indulge me just a little.

Who doesn’t need a bit of sunshine at this time of year?  Autumn in Bruges (isn’t that a lovey name, and very appropriate right now) was kind enough to nominate me for the Sunshine Award.

Izabela Benisz suggested I was a Beautiful Blogger.  I usually scurry past mirrors these days, but it’s a lovely thought!

Deepali passed on the baton for the Adventurous Blogger Award.  I’m still trying to shake my head clear of Portugal so I haven’t started plotting my next adventure yet, but it’ll come!

I’m going to put these bright new jewels in my sidebar and on my Awards page.  Please spend a little time with each of the bloggers.  They’re all very deserving recipients and I’ve enjoyed reading many of their posts.

Never short of an idea or three, Alyson Sheldrake, painter extraordinaire and the authoress of the Algarve Blog and The Thought Palette (another blog name I really love) has initiated a new award, Blog of the Year, 2012.

Here I quote Aly:

The ‘rules’ for the award are simple:

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserves the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

~ 2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

~ 3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Awardhttp://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/  and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)

~ 4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them

~ 5 You can now also join our Facebook page – click the link here ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/groups/BlogoftheYear/ and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience

~ 6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

There are a total of 6 stars to collect. You begin with the ‘1 star’ award – and every time you are given the award by another blog – you can add another star!

Thanks Aly for your nomination, and also to Julie Dawn Fox, who was kind enough to nominate me too.  I’ve since collected stars from The Travelbunny and Francine in Retirement, so that makes four!

I find it very hard to select from the blogs I regularly read.  They all have something to offer, and they all are giving of themselves.  When I look in my Reader, certain blogs almost always command my attention and so I will focus on those.

The Travelbunny  Suzanne has travelled to more places than I will ever reach, some of them exotic locations that I truly covet.

On the Luce  Likewise Lucy, who always seems to find hidden gems and great tips wherever she goes.

Jakesprinter regularly knocks me out with his Sunday Post.  How he achieves his amazing graphics is completely beyond me.

Just a Smidgeon is one of the most beautifully crafted blogs I have ever seen.  I’m no cook so it’s a measure of her talents that Barbara always induces me to read her posts,  although I’ve never yet baked anything.

This man’s Journey  Island Traveller is a man of enormous compassion and love for his fellow beings.  He makes me feel humble.

Third Eye Mom  Nicole has the most amazingly generous heart, coupled with a love of adventure and the great outdoors.  The photos alone make me drool.

Once again I have presumed on Cate’s good nature, and have stretched my “six words” to the very limit.  I may have to resign from this challenge!  Please check out Show My Face and you’ll get an idea of what I’m supposed to be doing.

Thank you for all the kindness and “likes” we share.

53 comments

    1. Thanks, hon. I did put you on my Awards page when it happened, so you should have received a pingback? Running round like mad right now trying to read, comment, etc. Wonderful, isn’t it? Good job I haven’t got a hangover!

  1. My friend, I always knew you have a beautiful and generous heart the moment I read your post when I first ventured into you inspiring blog. Your adventures and zest for life makes me smile every time. Thank you and congratulations.

  2. Thanks so much for the award Jo – you’re developing quite a sidebar trophy cabinet now ;-) You’ve mentioned a few blogs that are new to me too so I look forward to checking them out too!

    1. That’s one of the best bits, Lucy- introducing people you really admire. It’s surprising sometimes that people haven’t run across each other. You’re more than welcome.

  3. Hello Jo and congratulations on your award – well deserved :) and thank you so much for my own nomination – you’ve made me a very happy bunny! It’s so lovely to know someone out there is enjoying my efforts. Please bear with me – I will continue the nominations as soon as I can but it may take a few weeks…

    1. No worries, Suze. Wheneever! They’re a blessing and a curse aren’t they, awards? I’m still fighting with the widgets and I have a couple of award/challenges outstanding. Goodness knows how I’d keep up if I had a busy job too, like you. Just couldn’t leave you out.

      1. Oh bless you Jo :) I must knuckle down as I have some outstanding too – including an ABC from you from ages ago. it’s always an honour to receive an award though and I know what you mean about widgets!

  4. Thanks so much for your lovely words! I’m always confused with these sorts of awards, games and rules and seem to end up forgetting to do them.. so instead I will thank you profusely and promise to come back after my blog reading to check out some of these blogging friends of yours! They must be awesome if they’re friends with you! xx

    1. Torture, isn’t it, Smidge, though in the nicest way. The “to do” list gets longer when all you want to do is write great blogs (and you do!) The recommends are all top class so if you have some time it’d be nice.

  5. hi Jo! quickest way is hop over to Facebook and grab the htnl code for the 2 star badge – it’s here@

    or just r click and save the 2 star badge logo from the blog!
    email me if you’re stuck – will always help!
    and Congrats on all the awards!

    1. Bless you, Madhu, for your generosity. You were one of my first thoughts as a nominee, but I know you have a similar outlook to my own. You know I “heart” your blog.

  6. I like all the hearts you featured in your entry today! All very colorful. Congrats on the awards you got. Interesting with the Blog of the Year Award concept; will have to check that out a bit down the line; looks like you listed some wonderful blogs to check out! Enjoy your weekend!

    betty

Leave a Reply

