Six word Saturday

6ws-participating-in-banner

Technology may have defeated me- again!

mrs-sparklys-ten-commandment-award_thumb1

I’m battered and bruised today!  Don’t be fooled by Mrs. Sparkly, though I am indeed grateful to Elisa of Autumn in Bruges for nominating me.  Truth is, I really need a bit of glitter to cheer me up.

In the main I’m very grateful to WordPress for hosting my blog.  I don’t know if it would ever have happened without them, as I am one of life’s technologically challenged.  This week I seem to have thrown a spanner in the works.  My photos all want to appear in thumbnail size, no matter how hard I try to resize them!  I have petitioned WordPress for help- I mean, where’s the joy in a thumbnail sized photo?  In the meantime, I’m limping through my Six word Saturday, “sans photos”.

What do I have to do to earn my sparkles?  Quite simply, answer ten questions.

1. Describe yourself in seven words:

Restless, discontented, inadequate, sunloving, hopeful, enthusiastic, moody

2. What keeps you up at night?

Worry, and WordPress- not necessarily in that order.

3. Whom do you aspire to be like?

Anyone who travels, for a living or for fun

4. What scares you?

Me, in the mirror on a morning!  And those awful dreams I have, thankfully rarely, where something terrible has happened involving a loved one.  I wake up in a cold, black fear and can’t shake it for hours.

5. What are the best and worst things about blogging?

Don’t get me started!  You lot, of course- my lovely friends across the world, and the doors that open that I maybe never dreamt of before.  You know the worst thing, don’t you?  Hmm- starts with the letter t and ends in ology!

6. What was the last website you looked at?

Never a dull day in Poland -one of the winners in the Expat Awards 2012, and a cracking blog I’ve since subscribed to.

7. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

My discontented nature.

8. Slankets, yes or no?

Not really bothered.  My daughter bought me a lovely kimono one year.  I seldom wear it but it’s a bit like a slanket, I suppose.

9. What are you wearing now?

Jamas, but any minute now I’ll have to sprint for the stairs and get dressed or I’ll be late for zumba (again!)

10. Tell us something about the person who nominated you :

Elisa is another restless soul, like myself.  She is London based at present, and hasn’t quite yet worked out her future.  I know how that feels!  Do have a look at her Travels.

I’m passing a little sparkle on to :

Tay in Europe

Travel with Laughter

Simply Captured

All are joyful and beautiful blogs so do please have a look.  I’m off to fight with my photos again, but not before I give thanks to Cate at Show My Face, who has allowed me to whinge my way through this week’s Six word Saturday.  Click on the header or links to find out more about the challenge.  If you want to cheer me up you can click on the button below and visit some of my previous 6WS’s, which DID contain photographs.  See you next week?

6wsButton

46 comments

  1. Thank-you Jo!! Life has been pretty hectic after my travels, but your lovely nomination definitely brightened my day and grounded my thoughts :) Hope you are having better luck with your picture dilemma! Merry Christmas!
    Tay xo

  2. Hope some ones been able to help Jo … I’m with Marianne – I asked Timethief something awhile back and she was really helpful and back to me quickly with a solution [ which I could understand and carry out :-) ] !

  3. Congratulations, Jo – well done and well deserved!

    I put some pics up today and WP gave me the option for all sizes. I’m quite technical so I’m going to tell you to try a different ‘thingy’ (that’s the technical term for it) like Google Chrome or Internet Explorer because that might fix the problem ;)

  4. Nice job, technologically challenged or not, you write a great blog!

    Elisa

    P.S. Another Elisa! Not a common name so it’s always nice know there’s more of us out there.

  5. First of all, sparkly congratulations!

    As far as your image problems, I subscribe to a great site run by one of the WordPress support volunteers, Timethief, and she always has helpful tips on her blog. In fact she has just done a post on the new changes on WP which might help you, Jo. http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2012/11/30/wordpress-com-media-makeover/ If nothing swhe has written about seems similar to your problem, then drop her a note in the comment section, and she will help you. Timethief is very helpful and if she can’t assist, she will definitely know someone who can help you!

    I had trouble earlier in the week with all my images uploading at the start of a post rather than spaced out within it, and all I had to do to make things right again was to make sure that my browser was the most up to date available. (I think I was using |Firefox 16 when it has now moved onto |Firefox 17) Anyway, as soon as my browser was updated, it fixed my problem straight away. You could start by trying that, Jo.

    Don’t despair – we’ll get you there!

    1. Thanks a lot Marianne. I suspect that could be the problem but I don’t know how to update the browser! (I did say I was challenged) I’ll have a look at Timethief. Many thanks!

      1. Internet Explorer 7, but I also have Google Chrome. When I did 6WS I used Google Chrome and I think it may be ok. I’m going to try loading photos on there a bit later and see how it goes.

  6. Congratulations! and THANK YOU for passing that sparkle! love anything sparkling :D
    Dreams…it’s another world I travel every night, I struggle so hard every morning when my dreams are not so dreamy…. and you’ll right if ‘it’ shakes off and can easily be forgotten… I pray.

  7. Oh dear. I know roughseas was totally p’d off with the imaging problem, and another blog I read was, now you too.
    I’ve a few pics to add for my next post, I’ll expect the worst :-(

  8. congrats on the award; enjoyed reading the answers to your questions; I’m a bit technology challenged myself; dreams about loved ones being hurt or other events are always troubling indeed!! I’ll have to check out that blog from Poland since I’m Polish.

    enjoy your weekend!

    betty

    1. If only it were that simple! I’m “stuck” in thumbnail and it won’t let me resize. It shows full size details but comes up thumbnail, ever since I resized a logo the other day. I’ve been battling with it all week, unable to post! You know I like a photo or two!

Leave a Reply

