Thursday : Lingering look at Windows- week 49

IMG_2028

Central Arcade in Newcastle-on-Tyne

When it comes to shopping, I’m a bit of an old-fashioned girl.  I like nice surroundings.  I can be totally seduced by a beautiful arcade, especially when it’s prettied up for Christmas.

IMG_2029

Like this!

And this!

And this!

In fact, I might as well admit it, I’m a hopeless shopper!  I much prefer to admire the buildings.  As I put this post together, I’m watching the TV series on Libertys of London.  Many years ago, when I was finding my feet in the city, I did some temp work in the store.  It’s really beautiful and I’ve had a soft spot for it ever since.

These days “the city”, for me, is Newcastle-on-Tyne.  The highlight at Christmas time is Fenwick’s Department Store and its window display.  Click on a photo to see it in more detail.

My kind of shopping!  The window kind.  Which ties in very well with Dawn’s Lingering Look at Windows challenge.  I bet there are some more Christmas windows to see this week.  Click on the link to find out.

64 comments

  1. A beautiful display! Maybe I will whine and cry when we are leaving Mom’s so he will let me drive 20 min. south into holiday traffic to share with you how Boston does up the downtown it too is spectacular even if the city is in debt they put on the ritz for the holidays! JT has never walked the city streets of Boston maybe we can do it Monday night fingers crossed for good weather now that would be my type of present 🙂

    XO

    Enjoy your holidays

    Like

      1. 🙂 Thanks will do! All the traffic will run northbound as I head south I do know a thing or two about roads and traffic 🙂

        Like

  2. Lovely nostalgia in your photos Jo 🙂
    Not ONE bit of *tat … Marvellous !
    Have fun over the holidays and even more when you set off to Portugal in the early NYear 🙂

    ps I had to re click follow for some reason ..

    Like

    1. I’ve just about run out of steam, so it’s a good job Christmas is nearly here 🙂
      Have a wonderful one and thanks for the good wishes.

      Does anyone understand WP these days?

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.